About Us



(Registered Charity No 267047)

The work of the Trust is controlled by a Board of Trustees and there are separate sub-committees for the award of Grants, the Ride and Stride and Finance.

The Trust operates from an office in Long Melford, which is manned on a part time basis. The key personalities and Officers of the Trust are listed below.

Patron:Clare Countess of Euston, Lord Lieutenant of Suffolk
PresidentDiana Hunt DL
Chairman of Trustees:Geoffrey Probert DL
Vice Patrons:The Bishop of St Edmundsbury and Ipswich
The Bishop of East Anglia
The Moderator of Churches Together in Suffolk
Vice Presidents:Alan Barker
Ray Bedwell
Kit Bird
The Hon Jill Ganzoni DL
Lady Julia Henniker
Clive Paine
Robert Rous DL

Roy Tricker

Christina van Melzen

Robert Williams

Mary Wolton


Edward Bland
The Hon Charles Boscawen
John Devaux DL

Martin Favell

David Gould

Patrick Grieve

Mike Kiely
David King

Mary Luxmoore-Styles

Nicholas Pearson OBE

Tony Redman

Simon Ronan

Rachel Sloane
Christopher Spicer
Celia Stephens
Simon Tennent

 Hon. Grants Secretary:Adrian August
 Hon. Treasurer:David King
 Hon. Ride and Stride Treasurer:David Gould
 Hon. Education Officers:Diana Hunt DL
Celia Stephens
 Hon. Publicity Officer:Rachel Sloane
 Hon. Secretary:Mike Kiely
 Assistant Secretary:Helen Read


The Charter of the Trust is to provide support for the:

  • preservation, repair, maintenance, improvement, upkeep, beautification and reconstruction of churches and chapels in the County of Suffolk;
  • monuments, fittings and fixtures, stained glass, furniture, ornaments and chattels in such churches and in the churchyard belonging to any such church.

In practice, because of the limitation of resources, the Trustees have decided that the priority is to preserve the fabric of the churches and therefore the Trust does not normally contribute towards:

  • furnishings and fittings, brasses and bells, monuments or redecoration, unless needed as part of an eligible project.

For more information on eligibility and how to apply for a grant, please click here

%d bloggers like this: